16-6A District Football Accolades

Joey Clavin, Reporter

Although the Lobos football season was ended by a heartbreaking loss to Cy Park, the team still had some great players. Last week CFISD released the individual accolades for players in the 16-6A District, like 1st Team All-district, Second Team All-district, and Honourable Mention. There were quite a few Lobos recognised. 

Six Lobos were honored with the First Team All-district distinction. Three of the six players who were on the First Team All-district are brothers; Ja’marion Gipson, Jayhvion Gipson, and Jaquaize Pettaway. Jayhvion, the oldest is committed to TCU. Ja’marion, a junior has already played two seasons on varsity, and Jaquaize as a sophomore, received First Team All-district and was also co-offensive newcomer of the year.

“It’s a huge honor, but I worked hard for it, we all did” Pettaway said.

The others who made first team all district were; James Price, A.J. Owens, and Tanner Murray. Murray was unanimously voted First Team All-district quarterback as a junior.

“I was very excited to hear that I was all district for the second time, it’s a huge blessing,” Owens said.

Junior, Cade Hanks made Second Team All-district for both offensive line and defensive line.

“I feel like if I just played one of the positions I would have made First Team All-district, but I believe this is a greater accomplishment,” Hanks said. 

A total of 14 players on Varsity received one or more of the District awards. 


First Team All-District 16-6A

Offensive Linemen: James Price, 12.

Wide Receivers: Jaquaize Pettaway, 10.

Quarterbacks: Tanner Murray, 11.

Linebackers: A.J Owens, 12. Jayhvion Gipson, 12.

Defensive Backs: Ja’Mareion Gipson, 11.


Second Team All-District 16-6A

Offensive Linemen: Cade Hanks, 11.

Wide Receivers: Alejandro Vasquez, 11.

Running Backs: Jayden Landry, 11.

Defensive Linemen: Cade Hanks, 11.

Defensive Backs: Deavon Phillips, 12.


Honorable Mention All-District 16-6A

Ivan Rodriguez, 11.

Nick Mitchell, 12.

Kevin Durney, 12.